Skip to main content

The Snow Foundation continues support of CEF in first ever five-year partnership

By February 8, 2023No Comments

29 June 2021

Media release
For immediate release

After drought, bushfires, flooding rains and the COVID pandemic, Country Education Foundation of Australia (CEF) is pleased to announce ongoing support for school leavers in affected areas with the announcement of a five-year partnership with The Snow Foundation.

The five-year partnership will deliver $375,000 to students in need. Through the generosity of the Foundation, students will be able to apply for scholarships and support in the Yass, Snowy Monaro, Braidwood, Goulburn and Shoalhaven regions.

For more than a decade, The Snow Foundation has been supporting CEF to assist rural and regional youth via social, financial and organisational support. CEF Chief Executive Officer, Juliet Petersen says “We are thrilled to continue our partnership with The Snow Foundation and are grateful for their commitment and support to our organisation during ongoing challenges of drought, bushfires, flooding and the COVID pandemic. This partnership and significant financial assistance are vitally important to ensure rural and regional students still pursue post-school education.”

The recipients for 2021 are:


  • Rosie Crawford – Bachelor of Nursing and Paramedicine, Australian Catholic University
  • Lily Jones – Bachelor of Biology, Archaeology, Visual Arts & German, University of Sydney


  • Ella Fennamore – Bachelor of Health Science, University of Wollongong
  • Holly Caffery – Bachelor of Medicine, Western Sydney University


  • Emily Targett – Bachelor of Nursing, University of Wollongong
  • Talissa Polsen – Bachelor of Veterinary Science and Biology, Charles Sturt University


  • Sophie Petty – Bachelor of Midwifery, University of Canberra
  • Claudia Tonks – Bachelor of Arts, University of Wollongong
  • Sarah Lambert – Bachelor of Social Work (Hon)/Bachelor of Social Sciences (Psych), Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
  • Cassandra French – TAFE, Bachelor of Community Services


  • Karlee Symonds – Bachelor of Psychology, University of Wollongong
  • Ashleen Rigney – Bachelor of Health, Australian Catholic University
  • Tiana Ceissman – Bachelor of Paramedicine, Charles Sturt University
  • Joshua Fisher – Bachelor of Medicine, University of Wollongong
  • Sarah Hamilton – Bachelor of Politics and Economics, University of Wollongong
  • Romeny O’Neile Henderson – Bachelor of Oral Health Therapy, Charles Sturt University
  • Julian Stephens – Bachelor of Psychology, University of New South Wales

CEF exists to support students of any background or ability to ensure they can access the resources they need to fulfil their personal potential and contribute fully to the communities in which they live. Students undertaking any post-school education and training, such as university, VET sector, traineeships or apprenticeships, are eligible to apply for grants and scholarships.

“The Snow Foundation are passionate about students from rural and regional areas gaining access to tertiary or further studies and are intent on helping to close the participation gap which exists between country and city students,” says Georgina Byron, CEO The Snow Foundation.

For more information on the support and resources CEF provides, visit


Download the media release here.

CEF Fundraising & Engagement: Nicole Wright | 0410 528 969 | [email protected]


Author CEF

More posts by CEF

Leave a Reply